Understanding your enneagram

The enneagram system consists of nine personality types where a person is identified by a number scaling from one to nine. This number can be used to better understand oneself and those around you.


Ashley Lubkeman

The nine enneagrams portrayed in an illustrated format that aligns with their description

The enneagram is a system of nine personality types where a person is identified by a number scaling from one to nine. In addition to the primary number, there is a wing, either one number higher or lower than your main number. This number signifies the less dominant aspects of your personality. 

 The nine types are as follows:

  1. The Reformer: Rational, purposeful and perfectionistic
    • Core Fear: Being wrong
    • Core Desire: Having integrity
  2. The Helper: Caring, loving and generous
    • Core Fear: Being rejected
    • Core Desire: Being loved
  3. The Achiever: Success-oriented, driven and determined
    • Core Fear: Being exposed
    • Core Desire: Having high status
  4. The Individualist: Sensitive, empathetic and creative
    • Core Fear: Being mundane
    • Core Desire: Being unique
  5. The Investigator: Introspective, curious and secretive
    • Core Fear: Being incapable
    • Core Desire: Being competent
  6. The Loyalist: Committed, anxious and responsible
    • Core Fear: Being without security
    • Core Desire: Having guidance
  7. The Enthusiast: Spontaneous, excited and fun
    • Core Fear: Being deprived
    • Core Desire: Being happy
  8. The Challenger: Dominant, willful and decisive
    • Core Fear: Being weak
    • Core Desire: To protect themselves
  9. The Peacemaker: Neutral, easygoing and receptive
    • Core Fear: Being in conflict
    • Core Desire: Having stability

Senior Samantha Bradley took the enneagram test in AP 2D Art for her first graded project of the year. The goal was for students to see themselves through their art and express their identity. 

“I am someone that needs a lot of reassurance and that is a big part of number two,” Bradley said.

Through learning this, it gave her more comfort in her personality.

“You can get an idea of who you are,” Bradley said when asked what the enneagram offers to most people.

The enneagram shows core desires, motivations and fears for each number. 

“I was able to understand why I react in some ways or why I partake in certain behaviors and my inner motivations behind my behaviors,” senior Jordan Mitchell said. 

According to Healthline, knowing your enneagram helps you understand yourself and learn how to cope with stress.

“[Learning my type was] really helpful for me to be more emotionally intelligent and just know more about myself to prevent some behaviors that are not very good,” Mitchell said. “It helped me to be more forgiving towards people because I know that all behaviors stem from some sort of trauma, or maybe just an issue that they have had in the past.”

The uses of the enneagram can be seen throughout many different aspects ranging from understanding to expression. While it is important to not isolate yourself with your number, it can still be a powerful tool in gaining insight about yourself.

Whether taken just for fun or to make a portrait in art, the enneagram can be a powerful tool to learn more about yourself and others around you. A deeper understanding can occur and a new view of yourself and others by learning core desires, fears and motivations can be found.

Linked below is a test to find out your enneagram number and wings:


What's your enneagram type?


Sorry, there was an error loading this poll.